My Eternal SONshine

Last Monday, the boy came back from school with no-homework at all (a breather for Ummi at least – because ever since school re-opens, he has been having homework EVERYDAY.). Thus we did some home-made English exercises (or I rather call it fun-activities) for some half an hour to 45 minutes before bedtime. In the last bout of activities, I gave him 10 minutes to write 3 ways on how he can lose weight. The thing is, I forgot the keyword – HEALTHY. And see what he came back to me with (typewritten by him with all grammars and spelling errors):

1) How about sleep all day long.
2) Puasa everyday.
3) Bring lots of money to London weight maynagemen.

I was not sure whether I should be laughing out loud and makes him think he’s a joker. I cannot be angry either – or else he will describe me as a Tiger, Wolf or Monster (Yes! He said that in his letter to me last year, in comparative with his angelic teachers. :p). I managed to curb myself real hard from either. Well, as the full-time home-educator to my son, I have to encourage him hard and instill all the positivity (and inject some fun too).

Back to his answers …..

1) Is that a question my boy? He reasoned that if he sleeps longer, he has less time to eat, and naturally he will lose weight. Hmmmmm ….
2) Fasting is an acceptable answer to me, but I explained to him (thankfully my Fiqh lessons on fasting still very fresh in my head) that it’s not possible for us to fast every day.
3) This LWM reply cracked me up the most. This boy of mine is totally sold off with LWM ad that at one time he said all fat folks should just head there. However I reasoned with him, that not everybody can afford LWM and it’s very, very expensive. So there he goes.

Seriously, after reading his answers, I wonder where the good, old-fashioned way of exercise and eating healthy. Hee!

Moving on, the start of school year 2013 has been smooth so far. Amir had seen the last of Tutor Noor last October. She can’t continue the session with Amir due to her continuing-studies plans (I salute this 46-yo mummy), and she only wants to focus on her graduating P6 students this year (Amir is the only lower primary kid she took in last year).

Back at school, and based on his whole 2012 performance, he’s officially off from the Learning Support Program. Secretly, I wish he can still be under the LSP – smaller number of students and conducive surrounding.

Amir’s supposed to have his follow-up with the Psychologist Prof during end December 2012, but she postponed it to February 2013. I am anxious to get all this to come together. Although, I can witness the steadiness in his studies and behavior, I know this time round we are pretty much on our own.

From late last year, I’ve been planning a structured system (because Amir does best with a structured system) for academic year 2013 (home-front).

The keyword I invoked in this system is the word ISTIQAMAH. I personally believe that something that you do consistently, no matter how little it is, but with sincerity, and happiness, it will end fruitfully, Insya Allah.

This entry was posted in Emotions, SONshine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment